Polonius

To thine own self be true

Only in America

Posted by Polonius on 1 October, 2006

I am indebted to FrinkTank for drawing my attention to Jimmy Dean chocolate chip pancakes & sausage on a stick. I thought this must be a joke, and I haven’t found the chocolate chip version on Jimmy Dean’s Web site, but I have come pretty close with the blueberry, so it looks like these things are the genuine article.

I know that there is a long tradition of mixing sweet and savoury foods. Pork and apple sauce, or turkey and cranberry sauce seem to work well enough together. Here in Scotland it’s not unknown to have fruit pudding as part of a breakfast fry-up. I’ve even tried chicken and chocolate (although that was quite a bitter chocolate). But the idea of combining sausages and chocolate chips is bizarrely American, and serving the result onna stick is worthy of CMOT Dibbler himself.

Leave a Reply

 
