Polonius

To thine own self be true

Voices in my head

Posted by Polonius on 25 March, 2007

A couple of weeks ago, Edward the Bonobo mentioned the concept of a generative grammar, something I’d never come across before. Then, through WTF, I came across  SCIgen, which uses the related concept of a context-free grammar. Today, while trying to get my head around some concepts of musical theory, I followed a series of links around Wikipedia from Mixolydian mode via Musical mode, Key (music) and Chord progression to Generative grammar again. Clearly the Fates are conspiring to guide me towards this concept. Perhaps generative grammars are the basis of the project that’s going to advance my understanding of Perl?

3 Responses to “Voices in my head”

  1. Edward the Bonobo said

    You should track down Brian Eno’s generative composition stuff (he probably calls it something different). He has a bit of software that produces music ‘seeded’ from user-controlled parameters.

    Surprised you hadn’t heard of Generative Grammar, though, you being dead clever and all. Runddon’twalk to Steven Pinker’s ‘The Language Instinct’ (and/or Anthony Burgess’s ‘A Mouthful of Air’).

    Chomsky et al have also proposed that phonology is generative.

  2. Edward the Bonobo said

    >>Perhaps generative grammars are the basis of the project that’s going to advance my understanding of Perl?

    Very likely! The AI people I used to know used to know got into it via speech processing and regarded Chomsky as the founder of their field.

  3. Polonius said

    Ed,

    Thanks for the tip. I’ll look out for Pinker (I see Burgess is more expensive and out of print.)

Leave a Reply

 
